Tea of the Day: June 14, 2012

Today’s tea was an experiment to try something new. I call it Herb Garden Tea.

Herb Garden Tea Ingredients

Herb Garden Tea: Herbs

I chose the herbs while watering my spice garden this morning. The herbs I used are shown in the picture clockwise from the top – lemon verbena, thyme, Greek oregano, fresh sweet basil. I used honey, again to try something different because I usually use raw cane sugar with my herbal teas. It was very good. It tasted very green, not spicy. It almost reminded me of sweet clover, like the smell at the park right in the evening the day they’ve cut the grass. Actually most of my tea inspirations happen when I’m watering my spices. They smell different when they’re still growing on the plant & they’re being watered. It’s like the leaves open up & let off the true taste, completely & utterly different from anything you’ll ever taste dried in a jar at the store. That’s like comparing a dried rose you’ve found in you’re grandma’s attic to a fresh on growing in the yard, completely different!

I combined everything in my large travel mug & let for step for a good 5 minutes before tasting. I leave the tea ball in till i’m fine because you can’t over steep fresh herbs. It was good & yes, different!

Herb Garden Tea

Herb Garden Tea

Herb Garden Tea

Ingredients

  • 1 Green Tea teabag (by Celestial Seasonings)
  • 5 leaves fresh lemon verbena
  • 12 sprigs fresh thyme (pinch off the tips)
  • 5 leaves fresh greek oregano
  • 1 sprig fresh sweet basil (bunch of ~ 5-7 leaves)
  • Amber wildflower honey
  • Cloth tea bag

Instructions

  1. Boil a kettle of water until whistling or to a rolling boil.
  2. Place ingredients in the receptacle of your choosing. (I combined the herbs in a tea ball. I crush the fresh leaves between my fingers to release their scent.)
  3. Add a bag of Celestial Seasonings Green + White Tea (the best tea for creating your own flavor, it provides a light tea base without overpowering the lighter flavors like black tea does)
  4. Pour boiling water over ingredients.
  5. Stir in honey, sweeten to taste
  6. Allow to steep for at least 5 minutes. Remove tea bag after no more than 10 minutes. The herbs stay in the tea as it is drank.
  7. Enjoy!
Any Last Words?

